Halberg Awards 2019 (1)

As a key sponsor of the Halberg Foundation (the Foundation), we would like to express our warmest congratulations to the winners of the 56th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards - the nation’s pre-eminent event to honour and celebrate sporting achievements by New Zealand athletes, teams and coaches.  The award winners were announced at a gala dinner on Thursday 21 February at Spark Arena and broadcast live on Sky Sport.

The Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year award was presented to Gordon Walker (pictured below with partners Tom Bennett and Jennifer Caldwell) for the third consecutive year.  Gordon led Lisa Carrington and the New Zealand Women's Kayaking team to their medal haul at the Canoe Sprint World Championships.  Finalists for the award included Allan Bunting (rugby union), Clark Laidlaw (rugby union), Leon Birnie (football) and New Zealander Joe Schmidt (rugby union).

Buddle Findlay became a key sponsor of the Foundation in November 2016.  The Foundation was founded by Sir Murray Halberg on the belief that all people, regardless of their ability, should have equal opportunity to enhance their lives through sport.  Since 1963, the Foundation has worked hard to make Sir Murray's vision a reality for physically disabled New Zealanders.