The Local Government Commission has today announced its recommendation that the proposed amalgamation of Wellington's nine Councils proceed.  The proposal comes after almost 18 months of consideration by the Commission.

The proposal is to create a single council called "Greater Wellington Council".  The Council would be led by one mayor, with 21 members from eight wards - Rongotai, Lambton, Ohariu, Porirua-Tawa, Kāpiti Coast, Lower Hutt, Upper Hutt and Wairarapa.

The proposal also includes a second tier of governance with each of the wards having elected members responsible for local decision-making.  Other aspects of the proposed model include a Māori board and a Natural Resources Management Committee.

Public submissions on the proposal can be made until 2 March 2015 and hearings will take place in the first quarter of 2015.  If required, there will be a poll on any final proposal in mid-2015.  If the poll supports the final proposal, or no poll is required, the next steps would then be:

  • A transition body to be in place by September 2015
  • An interim chief executive to be appointed by May 2016

  • Elections for the new council to be held in October 2016

  • A commencement day for the new council of 1 November 2016.

The Commission's report can be viewed here.